Rica Quesadilla

If you are what you eat, then I’m a walking, breathing, cheese-filled tortilla. One a day is standard, sometimes 2, and I really can’t go more than a couple days without an intense craving. They’re on just about every menu, and a lot of times the only vegetarian option. The quality and flavors fill out a pretty wide spectrum, ranging from the mexican equivalent of a wonderbread pb&j sandwich on one end to an artfully crafted, slow food delicacy on the other end.

I had the privilege to be invited into the home of a local Mayan family in a pueblo near San Cristobal. It’s a long story how I got there, but it involved finding an ant in my street taco and a posh-tasting (kind of like in Napa, but this is liquor made from corn). But that’s not the story here; this is about the perfect rica quesadilla.

In this Mayan kitchen, they were preparing corn to be made into flour for tortillas. The kernels are soaked in boiling water with a bit of limestone, which helps take the skins off the kernels. (Note the meat curing above the fire.)

Disclaimer: These next photos come from another peublito of the Lagunas de Montebello in Chiapas. I’m not sure where this chef sources the flour for her tortillas, but I wouldn’t doubt that she uses the same traditional process of boiling the whole corn kernels.

What I do know is that these quesadillas were made with freshly pressed tortillas (I’m kicking myself for not getting a photo of the wooden press she used), filled with local cheese and squash blossom flours (flores de calabaza), and grilled over an open air fire.

Que rica quesadilla!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rica Quesadilla

  1. Pingback: Tastes of Chiapas: Days 15-19 | Earth Eats

  2. Pingback: 100 New Foods Project: Wrap-up | Earth Eats

Leave a comment